Development of an Objective Concentration Index for Indoor Work Lighting Ii(2/2)

Project Details

Description

This proposal aims to develop an objective concentration index for indoor work lighting, and to construct an ergonomic-based control model for smart lighting. In this era of human centric technologies, how to effectively manage and control the lighting systems have become important research topics. Smart lighting technology facilitates sensor-based remote control on the luminosity, color temperature and usage occasions to offer lighting environments with energy efficiency and users’ well-being. This continuing project investigates the effects of different lighting conditions on the concentration, visual comfort, visual fatigue, and task performance of participants in an office environment. Psychophysical experiments were performed in the preceding year to obtain subjective ratings through questionnaires and to acquire objective measures on critical flicker frequency, frontal lobe brain wave, and task performance. The acquired brain wave signals for the two states of work and relaxation were decomposed by empirical mode decomposition into several intrinsic mode functions. Several candidates of concentration index have been identified in this process. The present proposal plans to utilize the support vector machine in the first year for further selecting the characteristics of brain waves and building the optimal concentration index based on the classification accuracy. Lighting conditions with the same correlated color temperature but different spectra will be implemented in the second year to further investigate the effects of circadian stimulus. The experimental data will be utilized to model the subjective ratings or objective measures as functions of task illuminance, color temperature and circadian stimulus. A luminaire control model for indoor work lighting can then be established based on the fitted models with adjustable weighting factors.
StatusActive
Effective start/end date1/08/2031/07/22

UN Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, UN member states agreed to 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure prosperity for all. This project contributes towards the following SDG(s):

  • SDG 7 - Affordable and Clean Energy
  • SDG 12 - Responsible Consumption and Production
  • SDG 17 - Partnerships for the Goals

Keywords

  • Lighting
  • concentration
  • task performance
  • visual ergonomics
  • machine learning

Fingerprint

Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • Visual attentiveness recognition using probabilistic neural network

    Chen, Y. C., Lin, Y. J., Chen, I. C., Peng, C. J., Hu, Y. J. & Chen, S. J., 2019, Applications of Machine Learning. Zelinski, M. E., Taha, T. M., Howe, J., Awwal, A. A. S. & Iftekharuddin, K. M. (eds.). SPIE, 1113915. (Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering; vol. 11139).

    Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingConference contributionpeer-review

    1 Scopus citations

室內照明調控下的專注力客觀指標開發(II)(2/2)

專案詳細資料

Description

本計畫預計以人因科技的角度開發出一室內照明調控下之專注力客觀指標,並根據實驗結果建立智慧照明的調控模型。智慧照明結合了管理與監控的功能,可有效節能並調整適當的燈具亮度、色彩與使用時機,營造對使用者最健康舒適的照明環境。本計畫以辦公環境為目標場域,在前一年度的實驗藉由調變相關色溫及工作面照度,組合出多種照明情境,並以不同參數評估室內照明調控下的生理及心理效應,包括客觀的閃光融合閾值量測、前額葉腦波訊號擷取、工作績效評估,以及受試者的主觀問卷評量,探討室內照明對使用者的專注力、視覺舒適度、視覺疲勞度與工作績效的影響。此外藉由運算受試者在工作與放鬆時的腦波訊號,已獲得數個有發展潛力的專注力指標。本次所提計畫預計在第一年加入機器學習進行腦波本質模態函數的特徵選取與結合,以支持向量機找出有最佳分類表現的專注力指標。第二年藉由可調變光譜的燈源進行人因實驗,進一步探討有相同色溫但不同晝夜節律刺激值的照明對使用者的影響。最後,整合兩年的主觀評比與客觀指標,建立智慧照明的調控模型,提供不同使用情境下,燈具系統調控的建議初始值及舒適操作範圍。
狀態已完成
有效的開始/結束日期1/08/2031/07/22

聯合國永續發展目標

聯合國會員國於 2015 年同意 17 項全球永續發展目標 (SDG),以終結貧困、保護地球並確保全體的興盛繁榮。此專案有助於以下永續發展目標:

  • SDG 7 - 經濟實惠的清潔能源
  • SDG 12 - 負責任的消費與生產
  • SDG 17 - 為永續目標構建夥伴關係

Keywords

  • 照明
  • 專注力
  • 工作績效
  • 視覺人因工程
  • 機器學習

指紋

探索此專案觸及的研究主題。這些標籤是根據基礎獎勵/補助款而產生。共同形成了獨特的指紋。
  • Visual attentiveness recognition using probabilistic neural network

    Chen, Y. C., Lin, Y. J., Chen, I. C., Peng, C. J., Hu, Y. J. & Chen, S. J., 2019, Applications of Machine Learning. Zelinski, M. E., Taha, T. M., Howe, J., Awwal, A. A. S. & Iftekharuddin, K. M. (編輯). SPIE, 1113915. (Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering; 卷 11139).

    研究成果: 書貢獻/報告類型會議論文篇章同行評審

    1 引文 斯高帕斯(Scopus)