The forward muon detector of L3

A. Adam, M. Aguilar-Benitez, J. Alarcon, J. Alberdi, V. Alexandrov, A. Aloisio, M. G. Alviggi, H. Anderhub, M. Ariza, T. Azemoon, T. Aziz, F. Bakker, S. Banerjee, K. Banicz, J. Barcala, U. Becker, J. Berdugo, P. Berges, B. L. Betev, A. BilandG. J. Bobbink, R. Bock, A. Böhm, V. Borissov, K. Bosseler, P. Bouvier, E. Brambilla, J. D. Burger, C. Burgos, J. Buskens, J. C. Carlier, G. Carlino, J. Casaus, N. Cavallo, I. Cerjak, M. Cerrada, Y. H. Chang, H. S. Chen, S. R. Chendvankar, V. Chvatchkine, M. Daniel, R. de Asmundis, G. Decreuse, K. Deiters, L. Djambazov, P. Duraffourg, F. C. Erné, H. Esser, S. Ezekiev, G. Faber, M. Fabre, G. Fernandez, K. Freudenreich, M. Fritschi, P. Garcia-Abia, A. Gonzalez, A. Gurtu, L. J. Gutay, C. Haller, W. D. Herold, J. Herrmann, A. Hervé, H. Hofer, H. Hofer, M. Hofer, T. Hofer, J. Homma, U. Horisberger, I. Horvath, P. Ingenito, V. Innocente, I. Ioudine, M. Jaspers, P. de Jong, W. Kaestli, H. Kaspar, V. Kitov, A. C. König, V. Koutsenko, S. Lanzano, C. Lapoint, A. Lebedev, P. Lecomte, L. Lista, K. Lübelsmeyer, W. Lustermann, J. M. Ma, M. Milesi, A. Molinero, A. Montero, R. Moore, S. Nahn, J. Navarrete, M. Okle, I. Orlinov, D. Ostojic, D. Pandoulas, P. Paolucci, P. Parascandolo, G. Passeggio, S. Patricelli, D. Peach, D. Piccolo, L. Pigni, H. Postema, C. Puras, D. Ren, P. Rewiersma, A. Rietmeyer, K. Riles, J. Risco, A. Robohm, J. Rodin, U. Roeser, L. Romero, W. van Rossum, H. Rykaczewski, M. E. Sarakinos, M. Sassowsky, V. Schegelsky, N. Scholz, K. Schultze, H. Schuylenburg, C. Sciacca, P. G. Seiler, T. Siedenburg, R. Siedling, B. Smith, V. Soulimov, K. Sudhakar, O. Syben, M. Tonutti, A. Udovcic, J. Ulbricht, L. Veillet, M. Vergain, G. Viertel, H. P. von Gunten, A. A. Vorobyov, V. Vrankovic, A. de Waard, S. Waldmeier-Wicki, W. Wallraff, H. C. Walter, J. C. Wang, Z. L. Wei, R. Wetter, I. Weverling, C. Willmott, F. Wittgenstein, R. J. Wu, K. S. Yang, L. Zhou, Y. Zhou, H. L. Zuang

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

173 Scopus citations


The forward-backward muon detector of the L3 experiment is presented. Intended to be used for LEP 200 physics, it consists of 96 self-calibrating drift chambers of a new design enclosing the magnet pole pieces of the L3 solenoid. The pole pieces are toroidally magnetized to form two independent analyzing spectrometers. A novel trigger is provided by resistive plate counters attached to the drift chambers. Details about the design, construction and performance of the whole system are given together with results obtained during the 1995 running at LEP.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)342-366
Number of pages25
JournalNuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research, Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment
Issue number2-3
StatePublished - 11 Dec 1996


Dive into the research topics of 'The forward muon detector of L3'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this